At peace with chaos

What a bundle of contradictions huh?!!!! Well, it’s a new thing. Today I was talking with a friend and she had sent me an IG story with the phrase “forgive yourself for not being at peace”. In short, don’t beat yourself up for being on edge, angry, irritated, and in the midst of the longest winter EVER, this spoke to me.

One could say I am especially hard on myself. Not sure where or why this began, just something hardwired between the ears. My academic achievements aren’t what my 16 year old self planned and carefully chartered, You’re going no where, you didn’t work hard enough, you didn’t run fast or far enough. This is the poison that brews in my brain. Now I fortunately am objective enough to understand that these are all ridiculous thoughts and behaviors. But I still cant silence the enemy within.

Being at peace with the chaos that is life is crucial. It’s a battle, and it takes conscious effort, but one cannot calm the waves they can only learn to move with them. Deep right? I know. Sometimes I can think rationally. So why do we constantly fight the tide instead of rolling with the waves? Because we are control freaks! We have constant reminders that there is someone faster, stronger, prettier, more successful!!! How can anyone exhale in our social media madness?!

Simple. Unplug. Deep breathes. Verbally listing our gratitude and worth. I am an awesome human. Pretty kick ass spouse. Self proclaimed amazing (flawed, frantic,stressed) parent. Seems silly and we are all way too cool to read self help books and actually do what they say, but they are on to something. Remind yourself daily of your worth. You are doing amazing things just by being you. This IS enough. I AM enough. I HAVE done enough. Start your morning with these reminders. Small changes make a big difference.

❤️

One thought on “At peace with chaos

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑